top of page

Musical Titles

As some of you know, all of my book titles so far also happen to be song titles.

Actually, this was no accident. After I had written The Sentimental Journey (technically, the song of the same title is simply "Sentimental Journey") I knew I would want to try to make this a tradition with my future stories.

Music has a way of touching a place inside us, doesn't it?

I've always been drawn toward older songs (just as I have to the past eras in general.)

I grew up being exposed to the music of my parents' generation. When I was in my early teens, there used to be a radio station that played music from the 1930s and 40s, and my dad would have me listen with him sometimes, talking about the various Big Bands. I especially loved the numbers from the WWII era!

If you've read The Sentimental Journey, you'll know I referenced many songs of that time throughout the story. In my intent to be completely historically accurate, I did extensive research to make sure any songs were true to that exact month and year. (May, 1943)

The title song, Sentimental Journey, was never referenced, however. Why? Because it wasn't recorded until 1945! It was recorded by a young Doris Day with the Les Band orchestra, and in fact, was her very first hit single.

That song also became a kind of anthem for all the soldiers returning home at the end of the war.

The title seemed to fit my story perfectly as the main character, Kara Michaels, journeys back in time to the home front of WWII where she'll have to make some life-changing choices.


Next time, I'll talk about the titles of the first two novellas in the Lander series, and the songs behind them.

In the meantime, if you haven't yet read The Sentimental Journey, be sure to pick it up, put on a little Big Band music in the background, and enjoy your pretend journey to a special time in history!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page