top of page

Why time travel? (Part 1)

Between you and me, I'm actually amazed that my first novel (finished and published!) happens to be partially "fantasy". I have never been into fantasy books as a reader- and certainly not as a writer!

One of the few exceptions are the Narnia books-there is just something about them that pulls me in. I think it might have a lot to do with C. S. Lewis' ability to speak God's truths through his allegories that make them so powerful for me.

As far as my story, time travel is the only element of fantasy in The Sentimental Journey. Although it's key to the entire plot, I think much of the story is grounded in real-life feelings and relationships while surrounded by historical accuracy of the period.

I'm guessing most of us have at least occasionally wondered what it would be like to somehow step into a time machine and aim it at a certain year in history. The World War II era has always held a fascination for me, so I had often thought how fun it would be to visit that time. My parents had seen this decade and knew it well, but it held a elusive charm for me. Perhaps it was the countless movies I watched with my mom that showed me snapshots of this special time...or the Big Band music of my dad's youth he introduced me to and I instantly loved. I was connected through my parents to the 1940s...yet, it still seemed to me to be a far away, distant era..unique and holding a charm long faded away. It encompassed style, incredible music, romance, patriotism and bravery, though surrounded by the dark time of war.

As for the story...one day, I was having a little conversation with my young teen daughters about various time periods we all wished we could visit. It was about the same evening that I thought I'd practice writing again.

What would it really be like to suddenly find yourself in a past era- a completely different world in so many ways? And what would happen if while you were there...you fell in love?

(To be continued...)



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page