top of page

Why Time Travel? (Part 2)

(cont. from Part 1)


As I began thinking about what it would really be like if I could go back in time, the story of Kara and her journey enfolded. (I honestly didn't always know what was going to happen next as I wrote. I just kept writing to find out!) Since Kara was living this fantasy for me of visiting another era, I always tried to see everything through her eyes...the uncertainty, the charm of the era, the inward struggles of learning to let go of what she had no control over.

As I wrote this story, it became clear that God was weaving a theme from beginning to end. This amazes me because "life" interrupted this story so many times. From the very beginning to the very end, it took nearly five years to complete! (More on what these interruptions entailed in an upcoming post...)

God was also speaking to me personally. I identified with Kara's personal struggles to understand everything....to let go of what she doesn't understand and to trust in the One who is greater..

Yes, falling through time is fantasy and definitely not likely to happen! However, God does rule over time and space. He is the Creator of all and everything bows to His word.

And as we go through life, how often to each of us find ourselves in a place or situation not by our choice? Where we're thrown off kilter, dazed and confused? How often do we have to decide to trust that God is in control and has us in His care?

I also thought about how God brings people together. In real life, No, He won't bring us to another time in order to meet the one we marry, but I do believe He often orchestrates these meetings in similar miraculous ways if we're seeking Him. He did so for my husband and I it's amazing to think about as we celebrate our twenty-fifth anniversary this year!

As you read this sweet romance surrounded by an amazing time in history, I hope you also hear God's heart among the pages...this theme that no matter what craziness is going on in our lives, we are not alone. He sees us, He loves us...He wants the best for us...and He is in control.

“If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.” Psalm 138:8-10


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page